Write Review
1.2
TERRIBLE
  • User Friendly
    1.0
  • Support
    1.1
  • Features
    1.3
  • Reliability
    1.3
  • Pricing
    1.2
Write Review
Visit Register.com

Register.com Reviews and Expert Opinion

Pricing Range

Shared Hosting $8.33 - $24.92

Reviews

Jan Deruiter
Jan Deruiter from United States,

bottom of the barrel

1.0
As a web developer, I have worked with different Registrars for 25+ years now and Register.com is near the bottom of the list (along with Godaddy). Apparently there was an issue with a card and among their barrage of daily spam em...Read Moreails there might have been a notice about this. Regardless, we are now almost 30 hours in, after providing new credit card info, for them to restore our site. Spent hours on chat and the phone and they still cannot tell us when they may get around to restoring our email and web services. You keep getting bounced around from all these different departments but in the end, 30 hrs in we are still down. I should also note that the disputed charge was for a service we were not even using and they took it upon themselvesLess
Adam O'Donnell
Adam O'Donnell from United States,

The worst customer service / tech…

1.0
The worst customer service / tech support in the industry. Website went down due to them appling SSL certificate I paid extra for improperly.

1st call 54 min no help, stated a website expert would call me in 2 hours and an emai...Read Morel would be sent documenting the issue, none of which occurred.

2nd call 39 min transferred, they hung up without answering

3rd call on hold 16 min, they hung up without answering

This company should be put out business for fraudulently offering hosting and SSL service which is never provided or supported and takes down your whole business website. Let the instigation begin into these incompetent fools.
Less
Peter Curro
Peter Curro from United States,

NIGHTMARE company! Shuts down your SSL security. SHuts down your web sites ( THAT THEY BUILT )

1.0
HORROR company of Thieves. ONE HOUR WAIT time just to get customer service. ANOTHER hour Transfering your call. THEN call gets dropped . YOU have to do it all over again. At one point paid $130 per month for Web site I already pai...Read Mored them to build. Only so they can shut down the Web site and demand $1800 to Rebuild it.Less
Bill Murphy
Bill Murphy from United States,

A MUST TO AVOID

1.4
I dont know what happened to this company since I first started using it in 2001; but its current business practices are deceptive. I renewed my domain register service in August of 2021 for 3 years; In January of 22 I began rec...Read Moreeiving 'cancellation' and then 'final' notices as of March 20, 2022 if i did not renew . In a senior moment, I went ahead and renewed, but something wasn't right - so I checked and saw I had already renewed, 6 months ago. ! When I called customer service, they tried to pretend the second renewal would be an extension of my 3 year renewal to 5 years. What a sleazy company this has become! There are many honest ones out there. Avoid this one.Less
Mary Marschall
Mary Marschall from United States,

Horrible business practices takes financial advantage of customers, auto-renewal without permission, customer service :{

1.0
Initially Register.com provided a good service. Something changed! Now this business is shady and takes advantage of subscribers. Shame on you! Stay away from Register.com, they will charge without permission, charged me twice and...Read More would not help clear up their error, and more. Find someplace to register your domain name or you will be sorry!Less
Peter Stork
Peter Stork from United States,

Automatic renewal is not a good thing

2.0
As far as I know they turned on automatic renewal on my account. A few days before a couple of my domains expired I wrote to them asking to cancel the service. Never got an answer and the domain were renewed. I contacted them to c...Read Moreancel the extension and told me it was too late. Terrible service. As soon as I can I will move to another provider.Less
Suzanne Trimmer
Suzanne Trimmer from United States,

Sleezy Company

1.2
I had used Register.com for a number of years without problems, then they turned on automatic renewal on my account without permission. Perhaps they sent an email that required users to opt-out of this service but, if they did, I...Read More did not see it. My credit card had expired and when I went in to renew the products I wanted I turned off the automatic renewal. I did not bother with the services that were tied to the expired credit card. The next day, they charged the expired card for the services I had excluded from my order. I contacted them about this and well according to the CSR tough luck and erroneous information. Next year, I will transfer to a different domain registration company as Register.com is not trustworthy.Less
Lisa Sawyer
Lisa Sawyer from United States,

Horrible Customer Service

1.0
I spent the afternoon attempting to transfer my domain name from register.com to the host of my web site. I wasted more than 3 hours between long hold times and issues register.com was having with its web site. I will start again ...Read Moretomorrow, hoping to get this done. I would never do business with Register.com again.Less

Expert Review

Bruno Mirchevski
Bruno Mirchevski
Hosting Expert

register.com expert review cover image

Last Update | May 2022

Monthly Update – May 2022

Hosting PlansDomain Names; Web Hosting; WordPress Hosting; Email; Website Builder; eCommerce; SSL Certificates;
Top Features99.99% Unix Uptime; PHP5, Python, Ruby On Rails, JSP, And ASP/ASP.Net Support; PhpMyAdmin; Cron Jobs; MS Access And MS SQL Database Access; Website Builder; Auto-Installers And Drag And Drop Features; Free Domain Name And Personalized Email Address; SSL Certificates; Hundreds Of Free Templates, An Online Product Catalog, And Mobile E-commerce; A Full Suite Of Domain Services; Local Directory Submissions, PPC, SEO, And Email Marketing
Customer SupportKnowledge Base; Limited Live Chat and Phone Support; Ticketing System

 

During May, Register.com:

  • No updates.

I don’t know if you have noticed until now. But, lately, I have been all about domain registrars. I have started my ‘hunt’ with Namecheap. And today, I am here to introduce Register.com.

6.8

Good

Rated by Bruno Mirchevski

  • User Friendly
    7

  • Support
    4

  • Features
    7

  • Reliability
    7

  • Pricing
    9

Screenshots

Register.com provides Domain Name Search, Premium Domains, Bulk Domain Registration, Domain Transfer, Domain Forwarding, Private Domain Registration, Domain Expiration Protection, and WHOIS Domain Lookup.

Note: Over 3,000,000 small businesses use Register.com’s services daily.

Better yet, that’s not where it ends. Sure, its specialty is domain name registration. However, Register.com also provides Web Hosting and WordPress Hosting, Website Builder, eCommerce Websites, Website, Email, IT, and Marketing Services.

Register.com is part of Newfold Digital’s portfolio, along with Bluehost, CrazyDomains, HostGator, Network Solutions, Web.com, and many others. Thus, it’s part of a leading web-presence solutions provider that serves millions of small-to-medium businesses worldwide.

So, let’s get right into it. The question is, what can you expect from Register.com? I am here to do the testing and provide you a firsthand review from the standpoint of a regular customer.

Getting Started with Register.com

First impressions matter, and Register.com certainly understands this issue. As soon as you visit its site, they will welcome you with a simple interface that’s especially easy on the eyes. It’s somewhat of a WP theme, but that’s what is super trendy nowadays. So, it’s a green light from me.

screenshot of Home page

Now, you can immediately spot what Register.com offers – Domains. They welcome you with one such offer. It should be a promotional one, providing the domain at a discount for the first year. However, many other domain registrars offer the first year for free. So, I’m not sure where I stand with this one. It’s too early to tell.

If you click on ‘Get My Domain,’ you’ll see the following screen.

Getting the domain page screenshot

Register.com offers the most popular domains, including .com, .org, .net, .us, .com, .biz, .info, .ca, and .tv. If you don’t find these suitable or simply a bit expensive for your taste, you can always go for the additional domains.

Here, you will find .ac, .academy, .accountant, .accountants, .actor, .adult, .agency, .airforce, .amsterdam, .apartments, .archi, .army, .art, .asia, .associates, .at, .attorney, .auction, .audio, .auto, .autos, .band, .bar, and .bargains, on the first page. Keep in mind, there are 20 pages you can scroll to find your best fit for a domain.

If you scroll a bit down, you will find other domain-related tools and services, such as Domain Expiration Protection, Private Registration, or Domain Transfers.

Question: How do I transfer my domain?

Answer: The process is fairly simple. All you need to do is on the domain transfer menu on Register.com’s website enter the domain name or names that you want to transfer, enter your payment information, checkout, authorise, and accept the transfer.
Warning: A $10 transfer fee applies to each domain name request to transfer and the fee is non-refundable.

Domain Server & Tools screenshot

Okay, back to the homepage. At the top, Main Menu, you can find all services that Register.com has to offer. I listed this earlier, so I guess there’s no need to repeat myself. After all, I would not like to bore you.

As always, I will go for web hosting. To get a plan, you need to click on Website Hosting straight from the Menu.

screenshot of Hosting drop list menu

Register.com offers four different web hosting plans, Started, Essential, Professional, and Premium.

I like that Register.com provides a recommended use for each of the plans in the form of a motto. For instance, you can find ‘Ideal for entrepreneurs and freelancers’ next to Profesional, or ‘Ideal for small business owners’ under Premium.

I am just starting, or at least I want to seem like it, so I will go for the Starter plan. It comes with 15 GB of disk space, one website, and one email box. If you need more, you can always upgrade or dedicate yourself to a more expensive alternative.

The Premium plan is the furthest you can go. With this option, you will get Unlimited Disk Space, 10 Websites, 10 Email Boxes, Domain Name, SiteLock Premium (Malware Scanning, Auto Malware Removal), and an SSL Certificate. It’s a bit limiting; I have to say.

screenshot of hosting plans

I clicked on ‘Add to Cart’ on the Starter plan, taking me to the following screen.

With Register.com’s web hosting plan, you can register a new domain or use an existing one. I want to save a bit of money, as I am here for the testing only. So, I will use what I have, ‘testtesting.club.’

choosing a domain page screenshot

Once you click on ‘Continue,’ you will get to specify your purchase further.

screenshot of your product configuration

Register.com offers monthly, 1-year, 2-year, 3-year, 5-year, and 10-year plans. It’s sure a lot. It might be the first time I see such a long-term offer if I remember well. It’s a commitment, but it sure pays out.

Register.com offers discounts on longer-term plans. As with most web-hosting providers, it’s a rule of thumb – the longer the term, the better the deal. More precisely, Register.com provides almost 50% off on the ten years service term.

Service Term selection page

Anyways, I will go for the monthly plan. Register.com provides no-risk refunds. According to their policy, “If you’re not satisfied or have a need to cancel your participation, Register.com will refund any unused balance in your Registration Fund within two weeks after receiving a written request of your termination of your Register.com Partner Agreement. No refunds will be given for any fee transactions, e.g., registrations, transfers, and renewals”.

Still, I don’t want to risk it. It has happened in the past for a provider not to return my money, and it’s sure a lot to lose if you go for a longer-term plan.

I continued to Checkout. Here, you have two options – to register if you are a new customer or log in if you are an existing one.

screenshot of Account creation page

I entered the Account Holder Information – my first and last name, address, city, state, province/state, etc. Then, I continued with the Login Information, including User ID and password. At last, you can select a security question to use the response to verify your identity if you need to retrieve your User ID or Password on Register.com in the future.

Next, you’ll get to Payment. You can go for a credit card or PayPal. More precisely, you can use Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, JCB, or Diner’s Club/Carte Blanche.

Selection a payment Method page screenshot

Who would say that I would get this disappointed? I tried with three different cards, all of which have the needed resources. However, Register.com denied my transactions three times. I got a message saying I need to contact customer support via phone to process my payment.

So, I went with another approach. I logged in to my account first.

After entering the credentials, I got the following message.

New Account Security Features message screenshot

Register.com offers three steps to strengthen its security. First, you can set a PIN. Then, the provider will ask for it each time you call or chat to verify your access to the account.

Security PIN creation page screenshot

Next, you can add your trusted phone as a backup method to authenticate yourself as the owner of your account when talking with Customer Support.

screenshot of the page for adding a trusted phone number

Finally, you can verify your phone number by entering the code you receive via message.

After I completed all three steps, Register.com proposed another solution, to add an extra layer of security by activating 2-Step Verification.

2-step verification message screenshot

Now, back to my purchase. After entering the needed info, I thought Register.com would work. Once again, I am back to where I started.

screenshot of the message that "We were unable to process your transaction.."

Unfortunately, I am unable to use the phone support. The fee for this option is too expensive in my country, as I have to pay for international calls. So, I had to consider other options, such as a ticketing system and live chat.

Initially, I wanted the assistance of a live chat agent. However, as that wasn’t possible either (the button isn’t working), I settled for the ticketing system.

Here’s how it worked.

screenshot of Online Customer Support

I clicked on ‘Create New Ticket,’ taking me to the following screen.

After filling out the needed information, I submitted my ticket.

screenshot of the support ticket

See, they don’t inform you when you will get a response. So, I added a comment to get the attention of the team. Then, I received a message saying the team responds to tickets in a 24-hour time frame, working business hours, from 8 am to 8 pm ET.

For a US citizen, this might not be as frustrating. However, as I am from a different time zone (and so are many other Register.com users), I have to wait hours for a response, and there’s nothing I can do about it.

At this point, you might think it’s terrible. But trust me when I say it gets worse. I waited three days for them to respond. During this time, I entered the card credentials approximately 20 times (yes, I am a bit persistent), none of which worked. Even after three days, I still didn’t get a response.

So, I had no other options left. I had to make a slight sacrifice for the sake of my followers. I decided to use their phone support. I called the number from the message, “We were unable to process your transaction. Please contact customer service at 1-877-485-7742 to complete this transaction.”

I talked with the agent for 13 minutes. I am surprised, and it’s in all ways but positive. He asked for personal information, aka credit card details, via phone. Not only did he ask for the card number but also for the CVV. I was like, is this person serious? But it gets worse. He said like, “Over 100 people shared this information via phone. Why is it an issue for you”?

Anyways, he didn’t help me to purchase a product. He shared some instructions, which I followed exactly as given. And once again, I got the same message.

See, at this point, I got utterly concerned about what they are doing with this information. If over 100 people asked for such assistance, shouldn’t you fix the system? Apparently not. Register.com asks for the credit card info via phone instead. Of course, I didn’t give it to them.

The saga continues. I gave up on Register.com, thinking it was a waste of time and resources. However, they probably felt a bit motivated to assist me after the phone call.

So, the following day, I received a message by email. Essentially, it’s a response to the email I send a few days back. Here’s how it looked.

screenshot of email

Honestly, I was hopeful for a minute or two. That was until I re-run the process. I have nothing more to say. I will dream of this message for days. It’s a nightmare.

Register.com didn’t allow me to register from North Macedonia.

screenshot of the message that "We were unable to process your transaction.."

You might be able to get a service from another country. So, I will continue this review as I want to remain objective and professional. Still, keep in mind, I couldn’t access the user interface, so that it will be pretty limited in this regard.

Performance, Speed, and Uptime

Register.com offers 99.99% Unix uptime. It manages your files across multiple servers, which protects your site from server crashes.

As mentioned, I couldn’t test this by myself. However, Register.com users have reported lots of downtimes, so that I would consider that as well.

Note: If you are a Windows user, Register.com guarantees that it will provide a 99.9% uptime for you.

Level of Support at Register.com

Register.com has a comprehensive Help Center with many articles divided into categories. You can find Domain, Email, Hosting, Security, Account Management, Marketing Services, Website Builders, and Other products.

Screenshot of Help & Support page

You can also check the providers’ blog page to find interesting topics and hosting-related information.

screenshot of the blog page

If you cannot find what you are looking for, you will need an expert to assist you in your quests. Register.com claims to offer phone support, a live chat, and a ticketing system for its clients. However, they are a bit limited in this regard.

screenshot of available support types

Register.com offers phone support from 7 am Et to midnight, seven days a week. You can find three numbers, two for the US and Canada and one outside the US. screenshot of Customer Support page

The live chat agents also have limited work time. You can use the live chat feature from 8 am to 11 pm ET Monday to Friday.

When it comes to the ticketing system, they specify a 24-hour time frame as average response time, working business hours, from 8 am to 8 pm ET.

I will not elaborate further when it comes to the level of support of Register.com. You can find all interactions I had with them in the first heading, the registration process. All I have to say is that I am utterly disappointed. It is the worst experience I had up to date.

Security and Backups

Register.com offers several security-enhancing features, promoting the safety and privacy of its customers. As a user, you can benefit from CodeGuard, SSL certificates, SiteLock.

screenshot of security-enhancing features

SiteLock is the global leader in website security that offers complete malware protection. More precisely, it continually detects and removes malware. Essentially, this is the only way to avoid such dangers.

Register.com provides four Sitelock plans, Premium, Defend, SiteLock911, and 911 + Defend.

screenshot of the SiteLock plans

Question: How do I set up SiteLock?

Answer: If your domain is hosted with Register.com, your SiteLock account is automatically set up for you. The only thing you will need to do is log into your Network Solutions account and verify that the service is set up and ready.

CodeGuard is an automatic website backup solution for customers with web hosting packages.

You can find five plans to secure your site for your business and your customer regarding SSL certificates: Xpress, Basic, Advanced, Wildcard, and Extended.

screenshot of SSL Certificates

All SSL certificates are available for a month, year, two, three, four, or five years.

The Xpress SSL Certificate comes with a $10,000 guarantee, the strongest data encryption, domain name validation, and over 99% browser compatibility. The Basic SSL offers a $50,000 guarantee, the strongest data encryption, complete business validation, and over 99% browser compatibility. The Advanced plan takes this to another level with the $1 million worth guarantee. Wildcard adds unlimited sub-domains to the Advanced offer. And finally, the Extended SSL is the only one with a Green address browser bar.

Finally, there’s the Cyber Security Solution as an all-in-one support system your business needs. It provides for on-call security, threat mitigation, theft prevention, identity protection, device monitoring, and safe mobile browsing.

screenshot of Cyber Security Solution banner

Specific Features of Register.com

Here’s what you can find within the Register.com plans. The following features are indeed superior and challenging to find within other web hosting services providers:

  • 99.99% Unix Uptime
  • PHP5, Python, Ruby on Rails (Unix Only), JSP (Unix Only), And ASP/ASP.Net (Windows Only) Support
  • Phpmyadmin
  • Cron Jobs (Unix)
  • MS Access And MS SQL Database Access (Windows Only)
  • Website Builder (Requires Some Coding Skills)
  • Do-It-Myself Web Design Services to Fully Custom Website Design
  • Available Auto-Installers and Drag and Drop Features
  • Free Domain Name and Personalized Email Address
  • Five Different Available SSL Certificates
  • Hundreds of Free Templates, An Online Product Catalog, And Mobile Ecommerce
  • A Full Suite of Domain Services
  • Local Directory Submissions, PPC, SEO, And Email Marketing
Note: Register.com’s website builder provides users with a template gallery with over 150 professional template designs. All templates provide single-page, multipage, and online store template versions.

Monthly Updates

During April 2022, Register.com:

  • No updates.

During March 2022, Register.com:

  • No updates.

During February 2022, Register.com:

  • No updates.

During January 2022, Register.com:

  • No updates.

During December 2021, Register.com:

  • No updates.

During November 2021, Register.com:

  • No updates

During October 2021, Register.com:

  • No updates

During September 2021, Register.com:

  • No updates

During August 2021, Register.com:

  • Performed system upgrades (causing disruptions with its self-service and customer support tools)

Summary

Register.com is the perfect choice for users looking for advanced features and lots of add-ons at affordable prices. It comes with a Website Builder with some Drag-and-Drop features and auto-installers for those who want to use WordPress or other CMS software. Still, you might need some coding skills to work around it. So, I would not recommend it for rank beginners.

Furthermore, Register.com offers both Windows-based or Unix-based hosting. As a user, you can benefit from lots of security-enhancing features, such as SSL certificates, SiteLock, and CodeGuard.

However, I had a horrible experience with Register.com. First, they need to work on their registration process. Yet another issue is their customer support. Their live chat, phone support, and ticketing system all come with work hours. Not only that, but their team also lacks expertise. It took them days to reply to my email. Even when they did, they didn’t resolve my issue. The same was with the phone support agent. We talked for 13 minutes, and still, he didn’t assist me a bit.

Register.com pros

  • Affordable Web Hosting
  • Windows And Unix Web Hosting
  • Low-cost Domain Registration
  • Superior Features And Add-ons

Register.com cons

  • Not Ideal For Rank Beginners
  • Horrible Registration Process
  • Limited Customer Support

FAQ

What does Register.com do?

Register.com allows you to find lots of domain names and find the perfect one for your business. It offers many domain-related services, such as Domain Name Search, Premium Domains, Bulk Domain Registration, Domain Transfer, Domain Forwarding, Private Domain Registration, Domain Expiration Protection, and WHOIS Domain Lookup. Also, Register.com provides web hosting services.

Is Register.com safe?

Yes, Register.com provides many security-enhancing features, such as SSL certificates, SiteLock, and CodeGuard, to protect its users.

Is Register.com good in customer support?

Register.com offers a comprehensive Knowledge Base. The company also provides live chat, phone support, and a ticketing system. However, all three have specified work hours, which might cause an issue if you are from a different time zone. Also, their agents are not as helpful as they should be.

What domains are available on Register.com?

Register.com offers the most popular domains, including .com, .org, .net, .us, .com, .biz, .info, .ca, and .tv. Furthermore, it offers 20 pages of additional domains, such as .ac, .academy, .accountant, .accountants, .actor, and so on.

Is Register.com part of Newfold Digital?

Yes, Register.com is part of Newfold Digital’s portfolio of brands with Bluehost, CrazyDomains, HostGator, Network Solutions and Web.com.

Register.com Prices, Plans & Features - 2022

Shared Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space Bandwidth Panel Number of Sites Price Score
Essential 300 GB Unlimited cPanel 3 $8.33 2.5 Details
Professional 500 GB Unlimited cPanel 10 $18.25 2.2 Details
Premium Unlimited Unlimited cPanel 10 $24.92 3.0 Details

Check Similar Hosting Companies:

  • 23
    Cloudways
    Money Back 30 Days
    Expert Review
    Starting Price
    $10.00 / mo
    25 Hosting Plans
    24 Data Centers
    cloud2
    SSD, Pre-Configured PHP-FPM, HTTP/2 Supported Servers
    vps
    Auto-Healing VPS Servers Without Website Crashing
    check
    Pay As You Go Billing
    Visit Site
  • 10
    ChemiCloud
    Money Back 45 Days
    Free domain
    Starting Price
    $2.98 / mo
    12 Hosting Plans
    11 Data Centers
    check
    24/7 Award-Winning Support
    check
    Worry-Free - 45 Days Money Back
    database
    Simple Website Builder With Drag And Drop, Responsive Design, And Over 350 Templates
    Visit Site
  • 10
    FastComet
    Money Back 45 Days
    Expert Review
    Starting Price
    $2.49 / mo
    15 Hosting Plans
    11 Data Centers
    cpanel
    Manage Unlimited Domain Names with cPanel
    check
    Fast SSD Storage for CMS Website Speeds
    globe
    Powered By 11 Enterprise-Class Datacenters
    Visit Site

Web Hosting in Compare:

Select at least 1 more company to compare
Cancel Compare