Write Review
1.6
POOR
  • User Friendly
    1.6
  • Support
    1.5
  • Features
    1.6
  • Reliability
    1.6
  • Pricing
    1.8

Avg. score per month

Write Review
Visit One.com

One.com Reviews and Expert Opinion

Pricing Range

Shared Hosting $2.52 - $6.06
Douglas Taylor

Pinned Review

Douglas Taylor,
4.8
I have been with many hosting providers over the years. I find this hosting provider to be a bit of fresh air so to say. The straightforward simple approach may seem very basic but it is very user fri...Read Moreendly for both the novice and the professional. I have neer seen a website maker so easy to use. A true wysiwyg approach is how I discribe their website builder. No problems whatsoever have I seen,Less

Reviews

Review Language
Show More
Rosana de Montfort
Rosana de Montfort from Czech Republic,

After 10 years as a webmaster I have been very disappointed!

1.8
I have been with one.com from the very beginning. As a webmaster I have preferred to have 1 single supplier to my clients. Their services were good at start, but then something radical happened and from the year 2014 their charges...Read More have TRIPLED and shot through the roof:

Web Space Small 1 year- Jan 27,2011- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year- Sept 9,2010 -Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Jan 28,2011-Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Oct 14,2010- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Oct 19,2010- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Oct 27,2010- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Feb 8,2011- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Feb 14,2011- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Mar 2, 2011- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - May 16, 2011-Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - May 20, 2011-Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Jun 3, 2011-Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year- Jul 28, 2011- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Aug 15, 2011- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Jan 28, 2012- Paid £23.76
Web Space Small 1 year - Feb 19, 2012- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Sep 14, 2012- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Jan 15, 2013- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Jan 15, 2013- Paid £10.80
Web Space Small 1 year - Aug 15, 2013- Paid £23.76
Web Space Small 1 year - Oct 29, 2013-Paid £10.80
Web Space Starter (15 GB) - Dec 10, 2015-Paid £27.36
Web Space Starter (15 GB) - Dec 10,2015-Paid £19.80
Web Space Starter(15 GB) -Dec 15,2015-Paid £26.16
Web Space Starter (15 GB) - Feb 4 2016- Paid £24.96
Web Space Starter (15 GB) - Feb 8,201-Paid £10.80
Web Space Starter (15 GB) - Feb 14, 2016-Paid £30.30
Web Space Starter (15 GB) - Mar 21, 2016-Paid £24.96
Web Space Starter (15 GB) - Apr 4, 2016-Paid £24.96
Web Space Starter (15 GB) - Apr 27, 2016-Paid £24.96
Web Space Starter (15 GB) - Jul 11, 2016-Paid £27.36
Web Space Starter (15 GB) - Jul 15, 2016-Paid £19.44
Hosting Starter (25 GB) - Feb 24, 2018-Paid £18.96
Hosting Starter (25 GB) - Nov 30, 2018-Paid £34.95
Hosting Starter (25 GB) - Dec 29, 2018-Paid £9.00
Hosting Starter (25 GB) - Mar 18, 2019-Paid £9.60
Hosting Starter (25 GB) - Mar 29, 2019- Paid £9.00
Hosting Starter (25 GB) - Oct 30, 2019-Paid £34.95
Hosting Starter (25 GB) - Nov 30, 2019-Paid £34.95
Beginner - Dec 26, 2019- Paid £45.87
Beginner - 12 months Jan 18, 2020- Paid £40.87
Beginner - 12 months Jan 29, 2020- Paid £42.43
Beginner - 12 months Feb 14, 2020- Paid £58.43
Beginner - 12 months Mar 1, 2020-Paid £14.26
Beginner - 12 months Oct 30, 2020- Paid £47.43
Beginner - 12 months Nov 30, 2020-Paid £47.43
Beginner - 12 months Dec 26, 2020 - Paid £57.87
Beginner - 12 months Jan 17, 2021-Paid £52.87
Beginner - 12 months Jan 28, 2021-Paid £52.87
Beginner - 12 months Feb 13, 2021 -Paid £68.87 !!!!!!!! are you serious??????????????

Now of course the provider will say: "we have improved our services and made sure you get the best of todays market, we have given you more space and improved on the web builder, cyber security and analytics!"

Now imagine the same business module at a car dealer, it would look like this:
--------------------
=>In 2010 you pay £399 all inclusive and they though in a free service, MOT and mileage, because they are a new car dealer and need to attract clients. They ask you if you want to have a reseller discount and support you in your planning.

=> in 2020 you pay triple £1,199 because they hired a new Customer Help line, employed new techies and got some new diagnostic tools. You don't get your MOT and service any longer, although you have brought in a steady clientele for past 10 years.

Nobody has asked you if you find their new charges fair, how they can help you to grow your business and if you plan to expand. Following this partnership agreement you close down the business.
This is how my work with one.com looked like for past 10 years.
Would you stay with the same supplier?
Godaddy offer comparable package with no web pages limit and no web-space limit for 49per year. That's where all my client run off to.
Less
Gani K
Gani K from United Kingdom,

Scams disguised as pro service

1.2
Unprofessional, abusive, rip off merchants

Tried to charge me for nothing

I had one domain registered with them

I transferred out the domain and they made the process long with forms etc to print sign and scan and return...Read More

Three weeks later they tried to charge me a domain renewal for the domain I already transferred out successfully
Less
Tobias Blass
Tobias Blass from Brazil,

Charged me twice, no money back!

1.0
I paid my 124 Euros with credit card and they charged me twice. No reason why. I contacted support, they didn't care much, said they would escalate this. 5 days later now I contacted them again, still nothing. Not even an answer w...Read Morehen to expect the money back. This is absolutely unacceptable. I want ALL my money back and leave this shit place! I have my lawyers on this now and they will know what to do.Less
Robin B
Robin B from Netherlands,

Stay away from them

1.0
see also https://www.whoishostingthis.com/hosting-reviews/one-com/#reviews

Stay away, you are warned. My expereince: bad! Sucks in any way. They want money for none delivered service. If you complain they charge INTRUM to get ...Read Moretheir money.

Again, stay away, my experience so bad you would really be scared of their Mafia like practices.
Less
Steven Eldridge
Steven Eldridge from United Kingdom,

Never Again

1.0
This use to be a reasonably priced for hosting, however they have tripled in price over the last few years and now you are paying over the top for poor hosting which you will encounter a lot of problems.

You do not get a prop...Read Moreer control panel, just some messy control panel they have made which is really basic and very few options.

Their chat staff are also very rude and a lot of them do not have correct knowledge in running a hosting company. They give you copy and paste answers that are outdated and don't solve server issues that you have no control over fixing.

I have hosting with many other companies and it is always one.com that I have so many issues with.

My advice is avoid this company! look else where, you will find so many cheaper and better hosting companies!!!
Less
Aaron Goodrum
Aaron Goodrum from United Kingdom,

Terrible company

1.0
Terrible company. They are allowing fraudsters to buy domains and use them to con people out of large sums of money. When this is reported to them, they do absolutely nothing at all to invrstigate, block the domain and prevent fur...Read Morether fraud. Of course, I can't call them discuss the matter, because theyre another awful company who dont own a telephone, so have had to report it to the police instead.Less
Andrew Inns
Andrew Inns from United Kingdom,

Outdated mail server setup

1.0
One.com offer wordpress hosting. Quote from their website: "Build your website, blog or app with WordPress. Use our 1-click-installer or create a custom beautiful website for your ideas and projects."
Their hosting setup doesn't ...Read Moresupport php mailer which wordpress uses for password resets, new user registrations and contact forms. don't expect your One.com hosted wordpress website to communicate with you. Even tried smtp intervention. Still didn't work as it should.
Absolute rubbish.
Working in their environment takes me back 20 years.
Avoid
Less
Michael Lavnduski

Expert Review

Michael Lavnduski

Overview

One.com: Focusing on Total Webmaster Experience

One.com is a well-established web host with over a million active customers and growing.  Their prices and hosting features are all quite competitive, though not necessarily the best of the best in any one area.  Where this company really seems to stand out is on the fact that they offer a full suite of great tools to help webmasters get up and running quickly and easily.

Their free website builder offers dozens of templates, which can be customized to meet your exact needs.  They even offer support for these features, which makes this an excellent option for anyone who wants a website, but really doesn’t know where to start.  The website builder will help you create and customize a fully functioning and personalized WordPress page that will have you publishing content in just minutes.

Another great perk to One.com hosting is that new customers who only need their basic hosting services will get a full year free.  After the initial year, this package is still only $1.89 per month for 15GB of hosting space, unlimited data transfer, personalized email accounts and more.

Read More
4.4
POOR
Rated by Michael Lavnduski
  • User Friendly
    4
  • Support
    4
  • Features
    4
  • Reliability
    5
  • Pricing
    5

Uptime & Reliability

Actual 99.99% Uptime

One.com doesn’t really promote their uptime as a key feature like many hosting companies do, though they certainly could if they wanted.  It took a little digging, but rather than just offering a vague ‘uptime guarantee,’ they actually provided real stats.  Over the course of 979 days, they had a full 99.99% uptime for their customers.

This is higher than the 99.9% uptime that many hosts guarantee, and given the fact that this is from actual user experience, it is much more impressive.  In addition to straight uptime, they also offer the latest security features, which are frequently updated to help ensure your sites are protected from any threats.

While the uptime is clearly impressive, it does seem that there are the occasional errors and difficulties with their backend.  Multiple users had reported seemingly random errors when accessing the cPanel or other areas, though they all had their issues resolved quite quickly.

Features

Impressive Features List

You’ll find that One.com offers an extensive list of features to all their customers, no matter what level of service they purchased. They take pride in the fact that they can offer full packages that include web hosting, unlimited email, and great support.

One nice feature that isn’t often offered by hosting companies is the Bix solution, which comes included with every hosting package.  Bix provides webmasters with real-time synchronization, file sharing options, music streaming features and a suite of mobile access features.  This little bonus will not only allow you to offer your visitors a little something extra, but it can also make your life easier too.  The fact that it comes standard makes it all the more impressive.

When you sign up with hosting through One.com you will get the standard $75 in Google AdWords if you buy $25.  There are other hosting companies that offer more impressive ad coupons, but for most people that isn’t a major selling point anyway.  Still, it is certainly a nice little perk, especially for those who are just getting started.

Support

Live Support 24/7/365

This is a major selling point for One.com hosting packages.  The fact that they offer unlimited customer support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week is fairly rare in this industry.  This is web chat based support, but for almost all issues that is exactly what people want anyway.

This support is for technical issues only, of course, and doesn’t include things like web design help or other things that people might like.  The fact is, however, that when you’re looking for customer service from your hosting provider, technical support is really all you need.

Pricing

Free to Start. Cheap to Continue

For the entry level web hosting, you’ll be hard pressed to find a lower overall price.  To start with, you can get a full year for free with their entry level package.  Even after the year, you’ll pay less than $2 per month which is an excellent price.  As you move up in package size, the price goes up progressively, maxing out at $180.80 per month for a 2TB package.

One potential downside for those who are hoping that their website will become wildly successful is the fact that One.com doesn’t offer VPS or dedicated hosting packages.  All of their hosting is shared, which does present some limitations for sites that use a lot of resources.  For the vast majority of users, however, this won’t present a problem.

Summary

All in all, this is an excellent web hosting provider for most personal and small business type websites.  It is easy to use, and offers excellent support.  The one main complaint is that it just isn’t scalable in the event your website gains massive popularity.

Pros

  • Impressive List of Features
  • Excellent Uptime
  • Free First Year for Basic Package
  • 24/7/365 Customer Support

Cons

  • No VPS or Dedicated Server Options
  • Occasional backend errors

One.com Prices, Plans & Features - 2021

Shared Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space Bandwidth Panel Number of Sites Price Score
Professional 100 GB Unlimited cPanel Unlimited $2.52 3.6 Details
Professional Plus 200 GB Unlimited cPanel Unlimited $3.53 3.2 Details
Business 500 GB Unlimited cPanel Unlimited $6.06 2.3 Details

Check Similar Hosting Companies:

  • Starting price
    $2.95 /MO
    Rating
    Money Back   45 Days
      2 coupons
    9
    Locations
    Add to Compare
    FastComet Awards
  • Starting price
    $0.90 /MO
    Rating
    Money Back   30 Days
      3 coupons
    3
    Locations
    Add to Compare
    Hostens Awards

Web Hosting in Compare:

Select at least 1 more company to compare
Cancel Compare