Write Review
4.7
SUPERB!
  • User Friendly
    4.7
  • Support
    4.7
  • Features
    4.7
  • Reliability
    4.7
  • Pricing
    4.7
Write Review
Visit Hostwinds

Hostwinds Reviews and Expert Opinion

A few words from Hostwinds

Hostwinds is one company in a sea of hosting providers - but our clients know why we stand apart from the rest. We provide great products. We provide great customer service. We go the extra miles for our clients. We are a company that not only provides, but one that truly serves.
Hostwinds HomePage Screenshot
Free domain
Money Back: Anytime

Pricing Range

Shared Hosting $6.74 - $14.24
VPS $4.99 - $42.74
Dedicated Server $179.00
Cloud Hosting $4.99 - $328.99
Resellers $5.24 - $10.00
SSL $75.00 - $150.00

Availability

99.9% Uptime

Hostwinds Awards

Best Customer Support badge is given to companies that our editors anonymously tested their Email & Phone support and have proven to be awesome. 
Jim Dowson

Pinned Review

Jim Dowson,
5.0
To be fair I was skeptical about service quality of Hostwinds, but for today I am very glad that one day I decided to use them. They have all staff any webmaster needs for proper work of website. I am...Read More hosting e-commerce website and it is important for me to receive 100% uptime, pingdom shows that I am getting it, so my hosting provider gives me everything what I needed. If you have e-shop or any other website - Hostwinds would be great choice.Less

Reviews

Grant Oakes
Grant Oakes from United States,
Moved from HostMonster

Great Support and Price

4.6
VPS
I've used Hostwinds for nearly 2 years and they have been excellent during my stay. However, I am looking at leaving because they have IP issues, mainly, some of the major (Gmail, Outlook, MSN, etc) ISP's block email traffic, clai...Read Moreming it's SPAM. Apparently, they have some SPAMMERS on their servers and some IP blocks are blacklisted. I have been forced to get a Gmail account so I can send outbound emails, which is a major pain. I've raised this issue with tech support too many times to count but the problem persists. I'd love to stay with them but I have to move on.Less
Ex Hostwinds User
Ex Hostwinds User,
I had the same issues, the Hostwinds staff never addressed the problem, they only offered more costly packages.
I then upgraded from shared hosting to the dedicated IP package and still was on a blacklisted IP. I left them becaus...Read Moree they host spammers that dirty up their IP blocks.
What good is it to have unlimited email addresses when the whole IP Block is blacklisted?
If you plan on using your domain for email then choose another hosting.
Less
Motaz Hakim
Motaz Hakim from Egypt,

Worst Support ever

2.6
I've moved from Shared hosting to Managed Linux VPS
The support team is sucks, i felt that I'm an auditor or QA on their jobs
They don't validate the requests.
For example, I've asked to only allow access to specific ports to o...Read Morenly 1 country,
so all they did is added the country 2 letters in the CSF config page and added allowed ports to this country
and they didn't remove the ports from TCP_IN section , it means there's no restrictions here, all they did is like confirming allowing my country !!
so this ticket toke 6 hours, and ended up sending them the instructions how to do it , so !!

another issue, VPS assigned with IP address, this IP address was blacklisted on 3 major RBLs and outlook is blocking this IP too, and when i asked them to change it since we need a clean IP because we gonna sent emails from it, they said, it's extra cost option to change it ! and no gurantuee that new IP will be clean, why should i get a VPS with blacklisted IP ?

another topic
i tried to delist our ip from all blacklisted RBLs and outlook too,
but we faced a new issue, that our emails is not delivered in stays in queue for days
because our server lost connection with the remote mail server we are sending emails to.
Support answer: the remote server blocks your IP, talk to them to unblock

---
another topic, suddennly with no warrnings your server CPU usage go to 100% with no running prcoess !!!
so you open a ticket and wait 2 hours for an answer that it's fixed !! node issue !!!!!! sorry for inconventict

---
another major issue happened with Hostwinds
our VPS in server in Amsterdam,
after we migrate our emails/website from shared hosting to this hosting
we bought a volume storage 100GB and attached it to the server, and moved all emails files on it 70GB!
a history of emails a 7 years history. and everything was good for 3 days and at 4/10/2021 the say facebook was down, the amsterdam server had a network issue at 10PM and we lost all the the connections with the VPS
no way to day anything .. so i've opened a ticket and got no answer, go to live chat and got informed that there's network issue in amsterdam server, and we got access at 12AM but our CPU usage was 100% with no process running
and i toke screenshot from control panel that shows CPU usage and storage usage was 68% of 100GB

they sent me at 2 am a reply that the issue was fixed and they sent me a screenshot from the same cpu usage | storage usage
and i found that storage usage was 1% !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i replyed to the ticket .. WHERE OUR EMAILS !!!
i supposed to sleep that time 2AM because i've work tomorrow at 8am need to wake up
and i couldn't sleep till they fix the server .
and got no replies, so i went to live chat and i'm fired !!!
from 2 am to 6 am all they said they don't know what happened to the volume storage and filesystem corrupted, maybe you got hacked !!!
WHAT THE HELL, GOT HACKED !! how ?? the server connection was down, and if we got hacked, the hacker will go the cloud volume and corrupt the file system ???? talk in more logic !!!
support answer, they have nothing to do with it , network issue won't affact the filesystem of the volume storage!!
and it's my fault that i didn't subscribe for backup plan!!!

when i asked is the backup plan includes volume storage ,and the golden answer: NO!
so we lost 7 years of emails history and they do nothing !!!

final conclution
Stay away from Hostwinds,
Support are sucks
Server Prices are very good, but no stability, no uptime 99.999999 like they said
alot of down times
delay in support reply on ticket
you need to validate every request with your self
Totally sucks
Less
raz
raz,
Hi Motaz, what host do you recommend ?
Silvano Berardi
Silvano Berardi from United States,

I am fully satisfied

5.0
Your sites will be in good hands, dudes. Personally, I'm a fully satisfied Hostwinds customer. They are rock. High 99% uptime and very fast servers. I developed my Wordpress Website with optimum speed using the available softaculous addon in the Cpanel. Well done!
Risto Matijevic
Risto Matijevic

They are always very prompt.

5.0
I have hosted 2 websites with Hostwinds for many years and I could not have been more satisfied. They are always very prompt in responding to support questions and never leave you wondering what to do next in case of an issue. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to host blogs.
Kaspar Zelenka
Kaspar Zelenka from Italy,

Everything works fine

5.0
I have been browsing the web in order to find a good host for about 3 weeks and found out hostwinds to be everything I need in a web host. What I wanted to say is that I have been for 8 months with this hosting provider and I am r...Read Moreeally happy with it. I have never had any downtime and this is great. I can say that speed connectivity is really fast.Less
Eugeniusz Wrona
Eugeniusz Wrona from Italy,

I took a deep breath with Hostwinds hosting

5.0
I am not moving from Hostwinds service people, they are just the best. They offer in my opinion the best value for vps servers based on that they give you daily offsite backups which most like my previous host charge extra for, and their support almost always gets on tickets in under 20 minutes.
Joshua Rafferty
Joshua Rafferty from Austria,

Hostwinds is a fantastic web host!

5.0
I've been using Hostwinds web host for the last couple of months. They also provide live chat support, which is great for me if I get myself in trouble with my VPS with them. I currently do not host my main website with them, as i...Read Moret's hosted on another network, however, my premium and free hosted services are with them. Thumbs up!Less

Expert Review

Bruno Mirchevski
Bruno Mirchevski
Hosting Expert

Hostwinds expert review cover image

Last Update | May 2022

Monthly Update - May 2022

Hosting PlansWeb Hosting; Cloud Hosting; VPS Hosting; Dedicated Servers
Top FeaturesSolid State Drives; Free SSL Certificates; Latest cPanel; Unlimited Subdomains; Softaculous AutoInstall; Unlimited FTP Accounts; Weebly Site Builder; Unlimited Databases; Free Migration; Good Uptime 99.98%; Unlimited Email Accounts; Instant Setup; Free Dedicated IP; 24/7 Support;
Customer SupportLive Chat; Email & Phone Support

During May 2022, Hostwinds:

  • Offered an Auto-Applied discount of up to 74% off.
  • Offered a 25% discount on VPS plans with coupon: HOSTADVICE25.

Hostwinds is a US-based web host provider that was founded in 2010, and since then, it tends to provide the best all-in-one experience to its customers. Their expert team works hard on the quality of their six hosting plans – Shared Hosting, VPS Hosting, Reseller Hosting, Cloud Hosting, Business Hosting, and Dedicated Hosting. Besides the decent hosting plans range, Hostwinds provides incredible uptime (99.98%), fast loading speed (1.82s), and decent website speed (745 ms).

What I also look forward to doing this Hostwinds brand review is because I want to test its features more thoroughly. This web host provider offers some fantastic features (free SSL certificates, one-click installations, easy-to-use cPanel) that will help you develop the perfect website for your business in a few easy steps. After reading hundreds of customer reviews that say they were satisfied with Hostwinds’ services, I decided to check it out myself.

9.5
SUPERB!
Rated by Bruno Mirchevski
  • User Friendly
    9.8
  • Support
    9.7
  • Features
    9.7
  • Reliability
    9.8
  • Pricing
    8.5

Is Hostwinds the Right Host For You?

People who are longer in the web hosting industry must have heard at least once about Hostwinds. Hostwinds is a web host provider that reached one of the top places on the list of the best web host providers and worked hard to remain in that place. Proof of its extraordinary works is the many expert reviews you can find online and the award that the company received in 2017 for Best Customer Service. I must be honest with you, when I first got the chance to write the Hostwinds brand review, I wasn’t familiar with anything about its services and support, but I was pleasantly surprised.

What I personally like about this provider is the great range of fantastic features, hosting plans, excellent customer support, and the superb loading speed and uptime that it provides. As I was getting more in-depth with this expert review, I was just more surprised and satisfied with Hostwinds’ services.

Hostwinds is a web host that you should definitely consider using if you want your website to stand out from the rest. According to my personal experience, I would use this provider, but for you to be sure that this is what your business needs, read my thorough Hostwinds review. Now, let’s get down to business!

 

Here is How We Review:

We write each of our brand reviews with incredible transparency, and we always do careful research so we can provide the best for you. Our testing process consists of five simple steps that are of great importance or the quality of the reviews. Here is how we do it.

  1. The first step that you can’t go further without is purchasing a hosting plan. Of course, this doesn’t have to be the most expensive or the most advanced one. It is enough if you purchase even the cheapest hosting plan that provides all features and services that are needed for testing.
  2. Next, we look forward to carefully exploring each feature that the web host provides. An additional process that is done at the same time is testing the performance and the speed of the web host by our expert team.
  3. The third step is all about testing the customer support, thoroughly analyzing the pros and cons of the provider, and ensuring whether the services of the web host are worth your money. After finishing this third crucial step, we safely move on to the next one.
  4. As I mentioned, the first three steps led us to publish our brand review. But the job isn’t finished yet. Besides publishing the expert review, we also update it as soon as the company changes something.
  5. Lastly, we never forget the customers that are essential when writing a review because their customer reviews help us to create the best transparent and helpful brand review no matter what web host we write about.

 

Pros and Cons

Pros:

  • Free SSL certificate
  • Unlimited disk space
  • Amazing uptime
  • Free migration
  • Excellent customer service
  • Easy-to-use cPanel

Cons:

  • Limited to only three server locations
  • You have to pay separately for a domain name
  • Mandatory KYC (Know your customer) document scans
  • Prorated money-back guarantee

 

Pros and ConsHostwinds is the best choice for small businesses with big amounts of page traffic.

 

Visit Hostwinds

 

Parameter ScoreWhy did we give this score?
User Friendly9.8Hostwinds is one of the most user-friendly web hosts. It comes with a well-known and easy-to-use cPanel, which is loved by many. Their one-click installations make it possible to create your account in the blink of an eye. We give it a score of 9.8 because some users reported minor issues in the process of signing up.
Support9.7In terms of support, Hostwinds offers a friendly and helpful team of experts. You will get 24/7 support through live chat, email, tickets, and phone. However, due to the personal experience of other people, we gave it a score of 9.7 because some of the agents weren’t very helpful.
Features8.6It is true that this web host comes with a great range of features, such as free migrations, unlimited email accounts, free SSL certificates, one-click installations, etc. But we decided to go with a score of 8.6 because the domain name isn’t included in the hosting plans’ price, and also, you have additional fees for regular backups.
Reliability9.8Performance and reliability are the most important things for every website, so Hostwinds tends to provide the best speed, uptime, and loading speed for your websites. Overall, the metrics are superb, but we gave a score of 9.8 because the website speed is a bit slower (745 ms) than other web hosts, but that shouldn’t be an issue.
Pricing8.5The pricing looks like it is the most crucial part for the customers. Almost everyone looks for cheaper web hosts, and they might avoid more expensive ones. Hostwinds hosting comes with the lowest price of $5.24/month, which is pretty affordable, but it can reach up to $431.24/month. That’s why we gave it a score of 8.5.
Overall Score9.3Hostwinds definitely is one of the best hosting providers out there that can quickly fulfill your website’s needs. With a few minor changes, it may even become the number one web host provider.

 

Hostwinds Prices & Plans – 2022

As we mentioned at the very start, Hostwinds provides six different hosting plans that will help you support all types of websites. No matter what business you have, Hostwinds’ pricing plans are here to adjust to our needs.

Warning: The monthly fees for your website’s backup aren’t included in any of the Hostwinds pricing plans.

First in our Hostwinds review is the Shared Hosting plan. This plan starts at $5.24/month for the cheapest plan, and it is most suitable for high-page traffic websites. Shared Hosting has three levels of the plan – Basic, Advanced, and Ultimate. You can benefit from features such as solid-state drive support, Softaculous auto-installers, instant setup, free website transfers, cPanel access, unlimited subdomains, unlimited email accounts, unlimited databases, free dedicated IP, and unlimited bandwidth and disk space.

 

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

 

Next, the customers can enjoy the Business Hosting plan. This plan is the best for faster speeds, fewer sites per server, increased resources, and better performance of your page. Bussines Hosting also comes with three levels, which are the same as the Shared Hosting ones. The cheapest plan starts at $8.99/month. If you purchase this plan, you will enjoy the benefits of free SSL certificates, free website builders, unlimited bandwidth, etc.

 

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

 

Note: Besides the free website builders, Hostwinds comes with a free migration that the expert teams do for you.

The Reseller Hosting plan is an option that allows you to start your own hosting business. With this plan, you receive 24/7 tech support, instant setup, and nightly backups. Like the previous two plans, Reseller Hosting comes with Basic, Advanced, and Ultimate.

 

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

 

Regarding VPS Hosting, you should know that Hostwinds provides four options – Managed Linux, Managed Windows Hosting, Unmanaged Linux, and Unmanaged Windows Hosting.

 

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

 

Due to these hosting plans, you will get features like a redundant network, server monitoring, instant scalability, nightly backups, full management, and enterprise-level hardware. With the Linux system, you can choose between Debian, Fedora, CentOS, and Ubuntu. On the other hand, Windows offers Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2012, and Windows Server 2016.

The Cloud Hosting plan helps you to deploy a server in no time. You can create your cloud server in seconds, customize your instances, and select your location.

 

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

 

Last is the Dedicated Hosting plan that starts at $90 up to $125 per server, and it offers an opportunity to create fully managed servers with dedicated resources which give you full control. You will have access to SSL certificates, including 256-bit encryption, free installs for clients, and 24/7 tech support.

 

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

 

Wow, I am amazed by the huge range of hosting plans that Hostwinds offer. Before you choose which plan to purchase, read everything about them carefully. They have many benefits for every business you want.

Warning: Each add-on costs extra. In other words, they are not included in the hosting plans.

 

Features & Benefits

A fantastic part of every web host provider is the variety of features. With each feature, your website gets better performance and makes it easier for you to manage your business. That’s why you should always consider choosing the best web host for your business. But how can you know if Hostwinds is the right choice for you? To help you understand what this provider includes in its plans, we’ve created a list of its top features, which are clarified by many customer reviews. Let’s see what you will get if you use Hostwinds hosting.

1. Global Presence

Compared to other web host providers, Hostwinds doesn’t come with many data centers worldwide, but it is still significantly expanded. This US-based company has servers in Seattle and Dallas in the US, while in Europe, the only data center is located in Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

2. Free Migration

Because I was explaining the hosting plans above, I decided to continue with the features by explaining the free migrations. Many customers already have a website that is hosted by another provider. However, if they are not pleased with their services, Hostwinds allows them to use their 60-day free website migration. What’s even better is that the Hostwinds expert team handles the whole migration process, so you won’t waste any time doing that.

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

3. Extraordinary Customer Support

To help you with any installation, migration, or even some issue you may come across, Hostwinds build a superb team of experts that is available 24/7 and is always ready to help you. What got to my attention the most and made me classify this feature as one of the best was the award they received in 2017 for Best Customer Service.

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

4. Unlimited Email Accounts

One of the features all look forward to in any web host provider is the unlimited email accounts. Hostwinds steps up and helps you establish a professional atmosphere in your company with branded email addresses. That’s why this company comes with unlimited email accounts in every hosting plan.

5. Security

One of the strongest sides of Hostwinds hosting is security. While doing my Hostwinds brand review, I absolutely loved what kind of security they offer. Each of the security features comes for free in its hosting plans. Your website might be protected by free SSL certificates, AES-256bit encoding, a dedicated IP in shared hosting plans, and an enterprise firewall to screen, filter out bad bots, and stop DDoS attacks. But that’s not even the best part. The Cloud hosting plans allow you to customize security rules as you imagine them to be.

6. Automatic Backups

As I mentioned above, Hostwinds doesn’t come with free backup plans, but they are indeed worth it. The provider’s nightly backups keep your website secure 24/7. Also, you don’t have space to panic as even if there is a malware failure, your hard work and all your data are still saved. By purchasing this add-on, you will also get additional security features, such as redundant cloud backups, for a dollar in total.

7. Hostwinds Guarantees

Besides the various features that are more or less present in every web host provider, Hostwinds comes with so-called specific features. What I am trying to say is that its customers receive two guarantees - a 99.9999% uptime guarantee and a friendliness guarantee. In other words, your site should be up the most times, and their support team is incredibly friendly.

8. Access to Website Builders

At the beginning of my expert review, I mentioned that Hostwinds is an all-in-one service, and that is proved by all these fantastic features. Last in our Hostwinds review is the access to website builders, such as WordPress and Weebly. But what is the benefit of this feature? You can easily make your website, host it, and acquire your domain all in one place, meaning you won’t need to make different accounts on several web host providers. This feature saves your time and drastically easies your journey.

* Learn more about the best website builders in here

 

Performance

Nowadays, there are thousands of web host companies that fight and do their best so they can become your choice. But to achieve this, they need to provide some of the best performances on the market. According to many customer reviews on the Internet, the websites that take longer to load or are slightly slower than the rest aren’t much preferred. To avoid this, Hostwinds has one of the best metrics out there. So, let’s see what your website can get.

Speed – Using SSDs to Improve the Website’s Speed

No one wants a website that is slow, right? Well, if you want your page to have a decent speed, consider purchasing some of the Hostwinds plans. Hostwinds guarantees rapid read and write speeds and utilizes a Route Optimized Network that ensures you that the fastest route to connection is always taken. Due to many testing during the last year, Hostwinds delivered an average speed of 745 ms. This may not be the fastest speed we’ve seen, but still, it is above the industry standard of 850 ms.

Note: Hostwinds uses SSDs (Solid State Drives) that boost the page’s speed and the proficiency of the sites that it hosts.

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

Uptime – Excellent (99.9% in the last year)

One of the worst things that can happen to your website is to be down pretty often. In that way, you will lose many loyal as well as potential customers. But by using Hostwinds, you won’t have any issues with that. This provider offers a 99.9999% uptime guarantee that is superb. I’ve read many positive critics for the uptime of Hostwinds, but to be sure that it’s not just marketing, I’ve decided to read what the customer reviews say and test it out on my own. What’s even better, since August 2021, the uptime has been 100% until the end of the year.

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

Due to this analysis, the downtime that Hostwinds services had was only 2 hours and 3 minutes for the whole year, which is better than you can imagine.

Loading Time – the Faster, the Better

In our day-to-day lives, everyone is in a hurry and doesn’t have plenty of time to wait for slow-loading pages to check what they search for. Fortunately, Hostwinds is here to provide an average loading speed of 1.82 seconds, which might not be the fastest you’ve come across (to be honest, I’ve seen much better), but as long as the loading time is under 2 seconds, is pretty acceptable. According to GTmetrix testings, the fastest loading speed was only 0.9 seconds, while the slowest was 2.9 seconds. The fastest loading speed is indeed impressive, but the slowest, on the other hand, is a bit alarming.

 

Hostwinds (Brand Review)

 

Before I move on with my Hostwinds review, I would like to sum up a few things. The uptime is the best performance of this web host, while the website speed and the loading speed aren’t as fast as I expected them to be, but they are still promising. However, you won’t make a mistake if you choose Hostwinds for your business website.

 

Level of Support

Wow, what a journey! I must say that as I go further, I am more and more surprised by what Hostwinds hosting offers to its customers. Speaking of customers, you must wonder if their support system is as good as the other features. Don’t worry. You are in the right place! If you were looking for a highly supportive web host, then Hostwinds should definitely be on your list.

Throughout the years, Hostwinds developed four ways of customer support - live chat, email, tickets, and phone. Each of them is available 24/7/365. But how to reach their team?

The live chat support can be found in the right bottom corner. You will definitely find it as there isn’t anything complicated. The cPanel allows you to navigate quickly through the Hostwinds website. By clicking on the live chat option, you will see the following.

 

Level of Support

 

I had a very pleasant experience that lived up to my expectations, as I got an answer in less than a minute, and because of their friendly access, I can say that they meet the friendliness guarantee.

But, I was not too fond of the part where you need to request a refund 72 hours after you’ve made your purchase. It is a bit short time, and I’m not quite sure if you can see how the platform works for such a short time.

Note: You cannot request a refund for software licenses, domains, SSL Certificates, IP addresses, products or services billed hourly, ones that are terminated for violations of terms of service, and ones purchased using cryptocurrencies, tokens, or digital assets.

Next is the ticket support option, which you can find at the top navigation bar.

 

Level of Support

In this part, as it is shown in the picture above, you can contact sales, technical support, and billing.

 

Level of Support

Once you open the ticket, you should type the subject, write the message, and then finally, click on ‘Submit Ticket.’

However, if you don’t want to use the above-explained support options, you can send them an email or make a phone call. The choice is yours, and you won’t regret choosing any of the options.

 

User Friendly

Being a user-friendly platform means a lot when it comes to ranking and popularity. I highly suggest using Hostwinds hosting as it is one of the most user-friendly providers. First things first, it comes with the most loved cPanel, which is popular among beginners and more advanced users. But what does this mean? The cPanel allows you to have a smooth and straightforward experience because it is very easy to navigate through it. So, to keep your experience without any issues, don’t doubt whether to use Hostwinds.

 

Level of Support

1. Creating an Account with Hostwinds

If you are busy and don’t have plenty of time to waste when creating an account, Hostwinds can definitely help you. The first thing that has to be done is to enter your personal information and click submit. Of course, you also need to choose your hosting plan. Keep in mind that registering a domain isn’t free, so you should do that on some other website and then migrate it to Hostwinds, so this might take some time. After providing everything they ask for, you are free to continue with setting up your account.

However, I must say that this process wasn’t so smooth for me, but it doesn’t need to mean that it won’t be for you.

2. One-click Installations

When we speak of an easy-to-use or user-friendly platform, one-click installations are a must. Thanks to the Softaculous app installer that comes with all of the hosting plans, you can enjoy an easy and completely automatic installation of WordPress, for example. Therefore, you can build a whole website running up in the blink of an eye. You just need to click ‘Install Now,’ and there you have it! The support team takes care of everything once you click on that button.

 

Level of Support

 

3. Free Migration

Thanks to the incredible support team, your website migrations will be done by the experts themselves. More precisely, migrating your website will be done in a few simple steps. First, you should contact the support team and open a ticket. From that moment, everything is on them. Hostwinds expert team takes care of everything, and if there is even the slightest issue, you will be immediately contacted. Due to this, you won’t need to register a new domain name. You will simply enjoy your already-existing website.

 

Step by Step Walkthrough – Hostwinds

Creating an account with Hostwinds was initially easy, but I had some issues that made my experience a bit challenging. Let’s get into it without wasting more time, as you must be impatient to see how to start your journey.

The first step is to choose the hosting plan that suits your business the most and then click on the ‘Get Hosted’ button. As you might be familiar with my brand reviews, I always go for the cheapest version of the plan and purchase monthly, not annually.

 

Level of Support

 

After you do that, you will see the following screen, where you will need to enter some personal information, such as your first name, last name, email, and password.

 

Level of Support

 

Once you fill in the gaps, click on ‘Submit,’ and you are good to continue. Or will you? However, before you go on, you will receive an email that you’ve paid successfully, which I found a great and dedicated service.

 

Level of Support

Here is where I ran into some issues. I don’t know whether I can explain them as an issue because that’s the policy of the page, but it did make my journey more complex.

 

Level of Support

When I logged in to Hostwinds for the very first time, I was greeted by the following screen.

 

Level of Support

To be more precise, you are required to send them your government-issued ID, a scanned copy of your credit card that displays your name, expiration date, and last four digits. You should even fill out and submit a Credit Card Authorization Form.

Level of Support

I understand that they want to protect themselves from all kinds of fraud, but all of this for just creating an account? I didn’t expect this. Maybe some people don’t mind sending this information, but I wasn’t comfortable at all. Also, none of their competitors has ever asked me to do such a thing.

However, even if they require that kind of information, they should display it somewhere on the home page where you can decide whether you want to do that or not. After making this clear, once you send them everything they require, you can use your Hostwinds account.

 

Using and Managing Your Website on Hostwinds

What a shock! I definitely didn’t expect that on my way while creating an account. I hope there won’t be any hidden trick like that once I get into my account. As you log into your account, you will see the following screen.

 

Level of Support

In the ‘Dashboard,’ you will find ‘Home,’ ‘Services,’ ‘Domains,’ ‘Billing,’ and ‘Support,’ and ‘Cloud control,’ as well as ‘Services.’

Services

By clicking on ‘Services,’ you will be transferred to the following screen, and you can access ‘My Services,’ ‘Order New Services,’ and ‘View Available Add-ons.’ If you go to ‘Order New Services,’ you will be able to purchase other hosting plans.

 

Level of Support

 

Note: The add-ons aren’t included in the hosting plan prices.

Domains

One of the sections with great importance is the ‘Domains,’ especially when your web host doesn’t come with free domain registration. In this tab, you will come across ‘Domains,’ ‘My Domains,’ ‘Renew Domains,’ ‘Register a New Domain,’ ‘Transfer Domains to Us,’ ‘Unregistered Domains,’ and ‘Manage DNS.’

 

Level of Support

Billing

As you may guess, the ‘Billing’ section is all about your payments and payment methods. Here you will find ‘Billing,’ ‘My Invoices,’ ‘Mass Payment,’ ‘Manage Credit Card,’ ‘Add Funds,’ ‘Paypal Billing Agreements,’ ‘Account Credits,’ and ‘Manage Billing Dates.’

 

Level of Support

Support

I’ve already elaborated on this, but let’s remind you briefly. In the ‘Support’ tab, you have access to ‘Support,’ ‘Tickets,’ ‘Open A Ticket,’ ‘Knowledge Base,’ and ‘Downloads.’

 

Level of Support

Cloud Control

In this section, the customers can see the ‘Cloud Portal’ and ‘Monitoring.’

Using and Managing Your Website on Hostwinds

 

Conclusion: Do We Recommend Hostwinds?

Yes, we do! Hostwinds is indeed one of the best web host providers in the industry, but it does need some minor improvements. It comes with excellent features and performance, it is easy to use, and its panel is straightforward and known by many. Also, your experience will be even better if you contact their support team. They are available at any time of the year and are glad to help you overcome the issues you have. And how they couldn’t be? The friendliness guarantee isn’t just a marketing trick. They prove their kindness and experience.

Besides the positive things that we can talk about for days, there are some tiny issues, like the one I described while creating my account. But, if you don’t have a problem with that, then you shouldn’t see it as a drawback. In terms of the prices, it depends on how you see it. The hosting plans start relatively at low prices, but they can get a bit pricey. Plus, there are many add-ons that are a must for your website. Overall, I had an incredible experience with Hostwinds hosting, so I highly recommend this web host if you want a solid and flexible website. If you aren’t persuaded so far, you can always read some of the hundreds of customer reviews, as well as expert reviews.


Monthly Updates

During April 2022, Hostwinds:

  • Offered an Auto-Applied discount of up to 74% off.
  • Offered a 25% discount on VPS plans with coupon: HOSTADVICE25.

During March 2022, Hostwinds:

  • No updates .

During February, Hostwinds:

  • No updates.

During January 2022, Hostwinds:

  • No updates.

During December 2021, Hostwinds:

  • No updates.

During November 2021, Hostwinds:

  • Announced its return and new changes

During October 2021, Hostwinds:

  • No updates

During September 2021, Hostwinds:

  • Didn’t issue any new features or updates
  • Didn’t report any server issues

During August 2021, Hostwinds:

  • Didn’t issue any new features or updates
  • Didn’t report any server issues

During July 2021, Hostwinds:

  • Didn’t issue any new features or updates

During June 2021, Hostwinds:

  • Updated their marketing website (language preferences, community section; tutorial)
  • Limited the Reseller and White label offerings to existing customers
  • Dealt with one abuse notification and took down hosting to redelivery-update-fees

During May 2021, Hostwinds:

  • Didn’t issue any new features or updates
  • Didn’t report any server issues

Hostwinds Prices, Plans & Features - 2022

Shared Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space Bandwidth Panel Number of Sites Price Score
Basic Unlimited Unlimited cPanel 1 $6.74 9.6 Details
Advanced Unlimited Unlimited cPanel 4 $8.24 9.7 Details
Ultimate Unlimited Unlimited cPanel Unlimited $9.74 9.1 Details
Business Basic Unlimited Unlimited cPanel 1 $10.49 10 Details
Business Advanced Unlimited Unlimited cPanel 4 $11.99 9.3 Details
Business Ultimate Unlimited Unlimited cPanel Unlimited $14.24 10 Details

VPS Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space CPU RAM OS Price Score
Fully Managed Linux VPS Hosting 1 30 GB 1 core 1 GB $8.24 9.0 Details
Fully Managed Linux VPS Hosting 2 50 GB 1 core 2 GB $16.49 8.8 Details
Fully Managed Linux VPS Hosting 3 75 GB 1 core 4 GB $29.99 10 Details
Fully Managed Linux VPS Hosting 4 100 GB 1 core 6 GB $38.24 8.9 Details
Unmanaged Linux VPS Hosting 1 30 GB 1 core 1 GB $4.99 10 Details
Unmanaged Linux VPS Hosting 2 50 GB 1 core 2 GB $9.99 10 Details
Unmanaged Linux VPS Hosting 3 75 GB 2 cores 4 GB $18.99 10 Details
Unmanaged Linux VPS Hosting 4 100 GB 2 cores 6 GB $28.99 10 Details
Fully Managed Windows VPS 1 30 GB 1 core 1 GB $12.74 10 Details
Fully Managed Windows VPS 2 50 GB 1 core 2 GB $20.99 9.6 Details
Fully Managed Windows VPS 3 75 GB 2 cores 4 GB $34.49 10 Details
Fully Managed Windows VPS 4 100 GB 2 cores 6 GB $42.74 10 Details
Unmanaged Windows VPS Hosting 1 30 GB 1 core 1 GB $10.99 10 Details
Unmanaged Windows VPS Hosting 2 50 GB 1 core 2 GB $15.99 9.3 Details
Unmanaged Windows VPS Hosting 3 75 GB 2 cores 4 GB $24.99 3.2 Details
Unmanaged Windows VPS Hosting 4 100 GB 2 cores 6 GB $34.99 10 Details

Dedicated Server Plans

Plan Name Space CPU RAM OS Price Score
Dedicated Servers 1 TB 4 x 2.00GHz 8 GB $179.00 8.4 Details

Cloud Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space CPU RAM Bandwidth Price Score
1 CPU 30GB 30 GB 1 core 1 GB 1 TB $4.99 10 Details
2 CPU 100GB 100 GB 2 cores 6 GB 2 TB $28.99 9.3 Details
16 CPU 750GB 750 GB 16 cores 96 GB 9 TB $328.99 10 Details

Resellers Plans

Plan Name Space Bandwidth Panel Price Score
Basic Unlimited Unlimited cPanel $5.24 9.3 Details
Advanced Unlimited Unlimited cPanel $6.74 10 Details
Ultimate Unlimited Unlimited cPanel $8.24 4.7 Details
White label Unlimited Unlimited WHM $10.00 9.3 Details

SSL Plans

Plan Name Features Warranty Price Score
1 YEAR $0.00 $75.00 6.6 Details
2 YEARS $0.00 $150.00 2.0 Details

Check Similar Hosting Companies:

Web Hosting in Compare:

Select at least 1 more company to compare
Cancel Compare