Write Review
2.3
POOR
  • User Friendly
    2.4
  • Support
    2.0
  • Features
    2.2
  • Reliability
    2.3
  • Pricing
    2.9
Write Review
Visit HostHatch

HostHatch Reviews and Expert Opinion

Data Centers

Paul E

Pinned Review

Paul E,
4.6
I have had about 5 VPS with Host Hatch and they are quite good. They do not deserve the bad rating they have received here. Support is good, could be a bit quicker sometimes, especially at weekend but...Read More they always resolve things.
Network speeds are very good.
Pricing is very good.
Uptime is very good. From time to time there might be a user on the node who is getting DDOSd and this might make things slow for a minute or 2 but, it doesn't last long and remember, this is a shared VPS. If you want super 100% reliability then you would be paying closer to $50 per month with one of the best VPS providers (soft layer etc) for the same network speed and monthly traffic that you get for $5 per month with Hosthatch.
Less

Reviews

Paul E
Paul E from United Kingdom,

Good host

4.6
VPS
I have had about 5 VPS with Host Hatch and they are quite good. They do not deserve the bad rating they have received here. Support is good, could be a bit quicker sometimes, especially at weekend but they always resolve things.
...Read MoreNetwork speeds are very good.
Pricing is very good.
Uptime is very good. From time to time there might be a user on the node who is getting DDOSd and this might make things slow for a minute or 2 but, it doesn't last long and remember, this is a shared VPS. If you want super 100% reliability then you would be paying closer to $50 per month with one of the best VPS providers (soft layer etc) for the same network speed and monthly traffic that you get for $5 per month with Hosthatch.
Less
*Votre Nom
*Votre Nom,
C'est juste pour des mesures de sécurité, votre e-mail ne sera pas utilisé ou publié.
Peter F.
Peter F. from United States,
Moved from InterServer

Absolutely the worst

1.2
VPS
These guys are horrible. On 2 separate occasions my cpanel license (that I paid for through them) became expired. I had to put in a ticket which they didn't reply to for days. Then, twice my server just started refusing connection...Read Mores. I hadn't touched it. It hadn't been hacked. I put in an "urgent ticket" because my websites had now been down for 3 days, and they replied 24 hours+ later. They basically told me to go pound sand. Stay far away from these guys unless you want a boatload of headaches.Less
HostHatch
HostHatch,
Hi Peter,

I am sorry to hear about your bad experience.

You have been with us for 7 months, so there must be a reason you choose to continue the horrible service.

We understand your frustration about your websites not wor...Read Moreking - but please do not blame this on us.

You did not pay in time and your service got suspended/shutdown. When it was unsuspended, your websites were not responding. This would mean that either the webserver was not booted, or the firewall on your server was blocking connections, or quite a few other possibilities. As an unmanaged provider, we can only be of so much help.

You opened a ticket at 19:35 and it was replied at 21:08 telling you that your webserver is denying connections and that you should check why, we do not have access to your server. I am not sure where the "24hours+ later" came from but it would be great if you could at least be honest. You purchased an unmanaged server and are blaming us for not knowing how to fix your own webserver. We never told you to "go point sand" - we were only trying to help.

I hope you change your mind about us. Thank you.
Less
Peter
Peter,
Excuse me? The reason the payment was late is because it was not on auto-payment like most hosting providers set it up. I understand what an unmanaged server is. The problem is that when I paid and the service was turned back on, ...Read Morethe server wasn't working. Why would the configuration be different? I didn't touch it. You guys suspended it and then it wasn't working anymore. It's YOUR responsibility to fix it. You touched it. You messed it up. Thanks for the condescending messages. Just another showing of your horrible customer service.Less
HostHatch
HostHatch,
Hi there - similar to most hosting providers, we also present the option of automatic and one-time payments on the invoice. You chose one-time, and that was how it was setup. We apologize if there was any confusion in this.

You...Read Morer invoice was generated and sent to you 14 days before the due date. A payment reminder, an overdue reminder, and a second overdue reminder was sent, before the service was suspended for non-payment. We can only do so much in case we do not receive payment.

As our services are unmanaged, we expect the clients to be able to handle OS and configuration related issues. If your server has a misconfigured webserver, there is not much we can do to fix it from the outside.
Less
Peter F.
Peter F.,
Update. Let me preface this by saying that HostHatch is correct in that they replied to my original ticket sooner than 24 hours that I claimed. It was 2 hours. It just felt like a very long time because they offered no help. I was...Read More simply told to check the logs. And that is what I consider being told to "go pound sand." Hope that clears that up for you HostHatch. Now for the update:

After Hosthatch saw this review, they began berating me via their support system. I was sent long diatribes demanding that I explain myself via their ticket system. Ending in them threatening to delete all of my data. luckily I got a chance to transfer everything to Inmotionhosting who, so far, have been incredibly helpful with both online chat and a phone call to get an extra IP address. In my opinion HostHatch are incredibly condescending and offer terrible customer support. In regards to their claim that I don't know what an "unmanaged VPS" is. I do. I had an unmanaged VPS for several years at Interserver. The difference is that Interserver was more than happy to check it out if the server suddenly stopped working. Especially if I hadn't touched it and it suddenly stopped working.

Skip the headaches and use someone other than these guys.
Less
HostHatch
HostHatch,
We asked Peter to clarify where things mentioned in the review took place, in a completely friendly tone. The complete review was a lie - sad to say, and the customer indirectly admitted it after being asked about it several times...Read More by saying "I was frustrated".

The customer replied "you are condescending to me" -- offering no evidence of what was written in the review, when we tried to figure out where the things mentioned in the review happened so we could offer our help. We asked again, and again, and again, with similar responses from him. At one point, Peter admitted that he wrote it because he was "frustrated" and to "give him a call to resolve this" (i,e indirectly admitting that the review was not real). We obviously refused as we wanted everything in writing, given that he lied on a public forum about things that never took place in reality. An unrecorded phone call would mean he could accuse us of even more things and we wouldn't even be able to defend ourselves.

Please understand the whole issue started when Peter did not pay his invoice even after it was overdue and multiple reminders being sent, which resulted in his server getting suspended. We did not cause the issue but we were blamed for it, and the whole review (made up of things which never happened) was written because we told Peter that we do not have access to his server as an unmanaged provider and he needs to check his webserver configuration to see why it's denying connections. He got 'frustrated' and decided to bash us with a completely made up review, even though we were only trying to be helpful.

Another unfortunate untrue line here by Peter is that we "threatened to delete all data". We asked Peter to either provide evidence for the things he wrote in his review so we could help him, or admit that he wrote a completely false review (which he had already done indirectly before) or he could move to another provider, since he was clearly so unhappy with us. A full refund would be provided in the last case.

I think everyone would agree that no provider would accept a customer who goes on public forums with completely false reviews. As you may have noticed in his responses here too - he does not really answer any questions and only makes blanket statements such as "they are bad, they are condescending, they are the worst, etc." while offering no evidence.

It is very unfortunate that customers cost small companies like us time and money. I wish him and whichever company he chooses next the best of luck - because people who have a habit of making up things do not really do it once.
Less
Mirko R.
Mirko R. from Germany,

One of the best hosters

5.0
VPS
Simple and Clean Website, Pretty much the best Serverinterface i ever seen.
The Performance of the KVM-Server are just outstanding.
Fast and modern Xeon-E5 Processors (for my Workspace, just perfect)
SSD-Performance is an Dream...Read More (cause of using NVMe)
Pricing is pretty Good too.

No Problems yet. Can't tell many about the Support.
Less
Henk van der Linden
Henk van der Linden from Netherlands,

Don't bother with the Anti-DDOS

2.4
VPS
HostHatch has been one large dissapointment for me and was a waste of money.
On location Amsterdam there AntiDDOS tunnel (Which you pay extra for) added more then 100ms latency to the server.
sudo apt install did not work out of...Read More the box either but because of the horrible tunnel i spend no effort fixing that up, it was likely an issue with there IPv6 setup.

I asked support for a refund and the ticket is open, they suggested to look into my server why sudo apt wasn't working and asked me for the root password, upon telling them its also the tunnel which makes it unusable i got no reply anymore but the cancellation went trough.

I now have paid $8 for a server i used for 15 minutes prior to cancellation while waiting for more then 2 days on a refund confirmation to know if they even are going to refund me the money.

Bottom line, don't bother with them if you need Anti-DDOS, if you run a latency critical server its useless and if you run a simple webserver just get cloudflare instead.
Less
Luan Nguyen
Luan Nguyen from Viet Nam,

Bad support, bad experience, disconnected frequently

1.8
VPS
I purchased one month subscription with their VPS because they offered affordable price in the market. Here are something I got after one week with their services:
- The upload ISO file function via URL do not work. I tried many ...Read Moretimes but I can not upload to their server (I upload the ISO file from direct link with my own server)
- Disconnected every hour (at the time I'm typing theses words). I asked their support for help & they said that due to my unlicensed Windows but the ISO file I used in Hosthatch is the same ISO file I used in Vultr (with 3 servers & nothing trouble in Vultr).
- After that, I sent 2 mails again to the support but there is no answer until now.
In conclusion, please avoid this service with any penny. Otherwise, you will regret about your purchase.
Less
Beta S
Beta S from United States,

Terrible server and terrible service

1.0
VPS
You should never use hosthatch's service.
It seems one of your servers is not responding anymore.

Server: Hosthatch
Last Update: 2019-02-19 14:30:14
Alert Trigger: 2019-02-19 14:50:01
It seems one of your servers is not res...Read Moreponding anymore.

Server: Hosthatch
Last Update: 2019-02-16 11:42:19
Alert Trigger: 2019-02-17 00:04:01
It seems one of your servers is not responding anymore.

Server: Hosthatch
Last Update: 2019-02-16 11:42:19
Alert Trigger: 2019-02-17 00:04:01

My vps down almost every day and what really terrible is you can not start your vps by yourself and each time my vps down more than 4 hours.
Never saw a service provider suck like hosthatch.
Less
ciph c
ciph c from Norway,

Terrible! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PROVIDER

1.0
VPS
Don''t ever purchase anything from them no matter the price or deal you get. They have the most unpleasant support I have ever talked to, they will do anything to keep you unsatisfied and prove they are right.

Their servers are...Read More quite ok when they are working, but don't expect that your VPS will be up/available as a server should be. They are very unprofessional and their technical skills are low. My VPS has went down and stayed down for several days in a row. Currently my VPS is down and can't be started since 5 days ago, support stopped to reply 4 days ago with a simple "we are investigating this issue".Less

Check Similar Hosting Companies:

  • Cloudways
    Money Back 30 Days
    Expert Review
    Starting Price
    $10.00 / mo
    24 Hosting Plans
    25 Data Centers
    Visit Site

Web Hosting in Compare:

Select at least 1 more company to compare
Cancel Compare