Write Review
2.9
DECENT
  • User Friendly
    2.8
  • Support
    2.8
  • Features
    2.8
  • Reliability
    2.5
  • Pricing
    3.6
Write Review
Visit Host Metro

Host Metro Reviews and Expert Opinion

A few words from Host Metro

We are all about making our customers feel comfortable with us. We do our best to be as transparent as possible with what we offer, which is why we avoid the use of the word "unlimited" where it doesn't apply, offer true 24/7 support, and offer a money back guarantee. We don't hide behind promotional prices to drive sales. We want to reward customer loyalty by offering the same rates that we offer new customers.
Host Metro HomePage Screenshot
Free domain
Money Back: 30 Days

Pricing Range

Shared Hosting $2.45 - $6.95

Data Centers

Dr. David Cohen

Pinned Review

Dr. David Cohen,
4.6
1) With DOZENS of better-known 'cheap' hosts owned by one company, HostMetro.com is a rare exception: NO price rise with renewal. To show faith, I renewed both our accounts for six years each.

2) O...Read Moreur clerk bought paid traffic for www. Supercharging .US. Bandwidth went past limit. When site was unreachable because of this, did they bill us to raise b/w? NO! They looked at account, saw we're not abusing, & lifted our cap. Now, our emails include an 'attaboy' and recommendation. As a result, we're now looking to become a HostMetro affiliate.

For a "small" company, HostMetro . com is DISTINCTLY outperforming Endurance Int'l, which owns most of the competition, and quadruples hosting price upon renewal. Highly recommend HostMetro . com to YOU. Many thanks.
Less

Reviews

Eugene Powers
Eugene Powers from United States,
Moved from iPage

HostMetro really really bad service, stay away. You have been warned!!!!

1.6
1. Have problems with SPAM. The only reason I subscribed to HostMetro is their tools to get rid of SPAM. None of these tools are working. NONE. All complaints go unanswered. They blame cPanel makers but I don't think so. Without a...Read Moresking as a "courtesy" they put me on the spamfilter that cut out all my email. I lost two days of email until they removed me from this spamfilter.
2. At least once per week I can't send emails because some Spammer abusing shared server so the IP address gets blacklisted. Never had problems like these with other hosting services.
3. Many times their chat service people just don't answer the chat and even if they do they just leave you hanging for hours. I tried several times to call and speak with the supervisor but they refuse to get on online.

Stay AWAY!!!!!!
2.
Less
Host Metro
Host Metro,
I'm sorry to hear about your experience with HostMetro.

While we provide a few options for spam filters, these services should be set up and customized to an individual user. If you were having issues with too much spam or legi...Read Moretimate mail not getting through, you could have contacted our support team to help you set up the spam filter to better fit your account, or you could do so yourself, since you have complete control of the spam filter you choose.

For blacklisting problems, we can switch the server your account is on to an upgraded server with better protections against the spammers and blacklists. We are currently working on upgrading the servers which experience these problems, but we understand it can be frustrating in the mean time.

Our supervisors/admins are busy monitoring and fixing the servers, and performing upgrades like I mentioned above, so unfortunately they aren't available over the phone. You can always speak to an admin or manager through the ticket system, which any of our regular support reps would have helped you to do if the problem was not something they could fix for you. I'm not sure when you chatted with one of our support techs, but they answer chats as quickly as they can. It's not immediate because in between answers they are often looking up your account and the issue, to see if they can resolve it as quickly as possible.

I'm sorry you've had such a poor experience with our company. If you're still facing any of these issues, I'd be happy to look into it personally if you submit a ticket.
Less
Steven Jackson
Steven Jackson from United States,

Outrageous Server Implosions Result in Lost Business, Aggravation, Frustration, and Transitions to Other Web Hosts

2.4
Host Metro has had significant problems with servers and lengthy repair factors. Result: Customers without Internet visibility in their industries and Email dysfunction for weeks. I.T. experts say that a server that fails should be abandoned and require no more than a day to replace.
Host Metro
Host Metro,
Hi Steven, we regret what happened with the server and are sorry about the trouble it caused you. I don't know which IT experts you spoke to, but to clarify, the server itself was replaced very quickly, however the accounts that w...Read Moreere affected had to be restored individually to the new server due to a partition failure, which is a different matter entirely from server failure. Regardless, we're sorry you feel this way. We did absolutely everything in our power as quickly as possible to restore all the affected accounts since this affects our business as well, but we know that in some cases that may not be enough for some of our clients.Less
M P
M P from United States,

Customer Support

1.0
This is the worst hosting service I've ever had the sad fate of using. They suspended my service because I had a cron job sending emails within my organization. They called it mail abuse. They wouldn't un-suspend my account. I cou...Read Moreldn't talk to anyone because their phones don't work. No one answers the online chat. Finally, I spoke with someone via their online chat and they said that they couldn't help me. I received random emails from the admin asking me obscure questions like, "What are you going to do about this?" But they wouldn't let me access my account to do anything about it. I know you're thinking, this is a cheap service, but I PROMISE YOU WILL REGRET USING HOSTMETRO!Less
Host Metro
Host Metro,
Hi MP,

I'm sorry you feel this way. We cannot unsuspend mail abuse accounts without first resolving the problem, because cron jobs sending out bulk emails are a heavy load on all the users of the server, so for your own site's...Read More safety and the safety of the hundreds of sites you shared a server with, we needed to suspend your account until the cron job was removed. Usually we will work with you to help you remove the abusing file, and help you to secure your account to prevent these things in the future. I'm not sure why you couldn't reach our support team -- we are 24/7 and you should not have had any issues contacting us for our help with this issue, but I apologize if there was a lack of communication and understanding.Less

Expert Review

Michael Levanduski
Michael Levanduski
Hosting Expert

Expert Overview

Very Experienced Hosting Team

HostMetro is a well-established hosting provider with an experienced team of professionals running the show.  The employees have a combined 50+ years of experience in this industry and it shows in the level of service they provide. In addition to providing a good technical experience, they also have a strong focus on offering great customer service.  They are there 24/7 for tech support and also monitor their systems closely to avoid downtime or other issues.  The company is focused on shared hosting solutions, but they also offer email hosting and domain name registration services too.

8.4
SUPERB!
Rated by Michael Levanduski
  • User Friendly
    8.5
  • Support
    9
  • Features
    8
  • Reliability
    8.5
  • Pricing
    8

Uptime & Reliability

99.9% Uptime Guarantee

The reliability of this company seems to be quite good.  They have a 99.9% uptime guarantee with a full money back guarantee on top of it.  They also offer free weekly backups of your site to ensure quick restoration in the event that there is a major problem. Unfortunately, there is not too much information online from actual customers saying anything one way or the other in terms of the speed and reliability of this company.  While this is not necessarily a bad thing, it would be nice to see more information.

Features

Nice Shared Hosting with some Extras Too

They have a limited number of hosting packages to choose from, but that makes it easier for many people to choose exactly what they want.  Within the packages you will get unlimited FTP accounts and MySQL databases.  You'll also get a free shared SSL certificate, unlimited domains, a free domain name, unlimited email accounts, plenty of disk space and bandwidth and much more.  They also include cPanel, CloudFlare and other nice services within each package to ensure your site is running smoothly from day one.

They don't provide too much information about the actual hardware that they use for the hosting.  This is not uncommon for shared hosting companies though, so it is likely nothing to be concerned about.  If needed, you can run streaming audio and video as well no matter which of the packages you choose.

Support

24/7/365 Tech support

The tech support is staffed 24/7/365 and they seem able to handle most any issues.  They respond quickly when you submit a ticket or send them an email, which is vary important.  In addition, they have a nice knowledge base that contains a lot of information that will help you to avoid problems with your website.  Their blog is also populated with useful information. Overall, I'd say the tech support is one of the best features about this company.

Pricing

Reasonable Prices

The prices with this company start at just $2.45 per month for their entry level package.  That price, however, requires a 3 year commitment.  If you are paying for just a year, it goes up to $4.45 per month.  They don't list a set monthly price so it seems you have to sign up for at least a year at a time. The higher end option is $6.95 per month (for 3 years) or as high as $8.95 per month for an annual contract.  Overall, the pricing is fairly average.

Summary

Nice Affordable Hosting

If you just need basic hosting for your website, this company could be the ideal solution for you.  They have very simple hosting packages and not too many to choose from.  While this does limit you on your options, it also makes it much easier to select what you need.  They are clearly targeting newer webmasters by providing them with an overall simple experience, which is what most people will want.

Pros:

  • 99.9% Uptime Guarantee
  • Free Domain Name
  • Simple Options

Cons:

  • No VPS/Dedicated Servers
  • Must sign up for annual hosting (at least)

Host Metro Prices, Plans & Features - 2022

Shared Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space Bandwidth Panel Number of Sites Price Score
Mega Max Hosting Unlimited Unlimited cPanel Unlimited $2.45 4.4 Details
Super Max Hosting Unlimited Unlimited cPanel Unlimited $6.95 2.8 Details

Check Similar Hosting Companies:

Web Hosting in Compare:

Select at least 1 more company to compare
Cancel Compare